Circle of Friends ~ Reflective Practitioners at Work


Each Learning Circle has a link to their own group wiki page. Use this page to post resources / artifacts / photos / and other project information useful to group work. This journey is about learning, applying and capturing insight into the work of "HEAT™-ing" up inquiry learning with students as meaning-makers and media-makers.

Informal_Learning_Counts.007.jpgLearning journals a la blogging are meant to harness the power of informal learning and collaboration. INFORMAL LEARNING creates MORE learning than the formal face-to-face time! It is where steps are planned, alternatives are considered, and progress is noted, along with discovering the lessons learned along the way. Years of research and studies identifies two of the highest yielding PD practices to be activating collaborative cultures and purposeful reflective practices within the group like keeping learning journals. These two practices (collaboration / learning journals) significantly closes the gap between what is formally learned in workshops (which represents only 20% of mastery) and what actually happens in for kids with what is learned. The power of informal learning when combining these two together practices together taps into the 75% strategies of how most people including kids really REALLY learn new understandings/practices as together they make sense of the content/concepts introduced and begin the journey of applying it in their practices. The new social media tools absolutely increases the ability to tap into the "magic" of informal learning for all of us including our students. See Students as Bloggers - GREAT ideas for applying these same informal learning benefits into classrooms.

Twice-a-month blogging by all learning circle members (and their responses to each other) will be using the discussion tab from their own Learning Circle page. The time invested is considered a significant added-value pay back that will increase the vision of Inquiry + Tech Uses into practice. At the beginning of each month, start a discussion thread from your Learning Circle page reflecting on your journey along the way. At the end of the month, please visit another Learning Circle's discussion and comment. Enjoy all the many things you will learn along the way. Here are questions to inspire your reflective practice a la blogging.

√ What have you been doing?
√ What have you learned?
√ How have your practices changed or not?
√ What's working? What needs to work better?
√ What is exciting you? Anything worrying you?
√ Any surprises? Quotes from kids? Delights? Bummers?
√ Any advice for moving things forward?


Learning Circle One - Greg and the Twisted Sisters

Name
School
Grade
Leah Dayday
Roland Michener
7/8
Name
School
Grade
Kim Johnson
Roland Michener
TL
Name
School
Grade
Kelly Lacey
Lakeridge
7
Name
School
Grade
Laurie Hnatiuk
Caroline Robins
TL
Name
School
Grade
Greg Bereza
Caroline Robins
6/7
Name
School
Grade
Jenn Robertson
Alvin Buckwold
7/8
Name
School
Grade
Sandra Cochlan
Alvin Buckwold
TL
List emails in one row, separated by commas: cochlans@spsd.sk.ca , robertsonj@spsd.sk.ca, hnatiukl@spsd.sk.ca, robertsonj@spsd.sk.ca, berezag@spsd.sk.ca, daydayl@spsd.sk.ca, johnsonk@spsd.sk.ca


Learning Circle Two - Tech Voyageurs

Name
School
Grade
Karen Routley
Henry Kelsey/River Heights
TL
Name
School
Grade
Julienne Buckle
Henry Kelsey
4/5
Name
School
Grade
Gerry Krogstad
River Heights
7-8
Name
School
Grade
Audrey MacDonald
Lester B Pearson
TL
Name
School
Grade
Carrie Soroski
Lester B.Pearson
7
Name
School
Grade
Ruth Elliott
KingGeorge & Westmount
TL
Name
School
Grade
Mary Jo Devine
King George
Read 2 Succeed
Name
School
Grade
Rob Janzen
Westmount
Grade 7 & 8
List emails in one row, separated by commas:
routleyk@spsd.sk.ca, macdonalda@spsd,sk.ca, elliottr@spsd.sk.ca, devinem@spsd.sk.ca, janzenr@spsd.sk.ca soroskic@spsd.sk
bucklej@spsd.sk.ca krogstadg@spsd.sk.ca

Learning Circle Three - The BeeVee's Staying Alive

Name Susan Ens Funk
School Brevoort Park
Grade TL
Name
School
Grade
Merril Bulin
Brevoort Park
4 and VP
Name
School
Grade
Najla Akl
Brunskill and Vincent Massey
TL
Name
School
Grade
Yvonne Denomy
Victoria
TL and VP
Name
School
Grade
Rob Friesen
Vincent Massey
5
Name
School
Grade
Janelle Helfrick Martin
Brunskill
2/3
Name
School
Grade
Meredith Greenshields
Brunskill intern in Martin's class
2/3
List emails in one row, separated by commas:
funks@spsd.sk.ca, bulinm@spsd.sk.ca, akln@spsd.sk.ca, denomyy@spsd.sk.ca, helfrickmartinj@spsd.sk.ca
friesena@spsd.sk.ca


Learning Circle Four - ThInquKnowledgists

Name
School
Diane Barsi, TL
Holliston
Name
School
Alison Robbins Jakes, TL
Queen Elizabeth
Name
School
Lesley Walters
JLA Confederation
Name
School
Grade
George Rozdilsky
Holliston School
4/5
Name
School
Grade
Allan Parson
JLA
3
Name
School
Grade
Mathew Fidelleck
Confederation Park
5


Name
School
Grade
Jamie Prokopchuk
Queen Elizabeth
2
List emails in one row, separated by commas:
Barsid@spsd.sk.ca , robbinsjakesa@spsd.sk.ca, rozdilskyg@spsd.sk.ca, prokopchukj@spsd.sk.ca
waltersl@spsd.sk.ca parsona@spsd.sk.ca fidelleckm@spsd.sk.ca

Learning Circle Five - The Baguettes

Name
School
Grade
Paul Bazin Webster
Lakeview
Resource TL
Name
School
Grade
Kristin Smith
WP Bate / Fairhaven
TL
Name
School
Grade
Denise Rossmo-Wiegers
Silverspring / Wildwood
TL
Name
School
Grade
Jaelynne Cherwoniak
Sutherland
Gr. 6 / TL
Name
School
Grade
Jim Best
Wildwood
8
Name
School
Grade
Blair Ross
Silverspring
1/2
Name
School
Grade
Wayne Gering
Sutherland
8
Name
School
Grade
Maria Bekolay
WP BATE
Resource 3-5
List emails in one row, separated by commas:
bazinwebster@spsd.sk.ca rossmo-wiegersd@spsd.sk.ca, rossb@spsd.sk.ca, bestj@spsd.sk.ca smithk@spsd.sk.ca , cherwoniakj@spsd.sk.ca, geringw@spsd.sk.ca, bekolaym@spsd.sk.ca

Learning Circle 6 - 7 plus 1 Equals Gr8

Name
School
Grade
Tanya Deneiko
Caswell
Grade 6 AcTal
Name
School
Grade
Crystal Lambert
Caswell
Grade 3/4
Name
School
Grade
Megan Hernberg
Brownell
5/6
Name
School
Grade
Rita Roy
Prince Philip
6/7 and French
Name
School
Grade
Jan Harrison
Brownell/Caswell Community
TL
Name
School
Grade
Brenda Nissen
North Park Wilson
TL
Name
School
Grade
Greg Wihak
Prince Philip
TL/VP
Name
School
Grade
Tanya
North Park Wilson
Grade 8
List emails in one row, separated by commas:
wihakg@spsd.sk.ca, beattiet@spsd.sk.ca, royri@spsd.sk.ca, harrisonj@spsd.sk.ca, deneikot@spsd.sk.ca, lambertcr@spsd.sk.ca, hernbergm@spsd.sk.ca, nissenb@spsd.sk.ca

Learning Circle Seven - Team Salsa

Name
School
Grade
Irene Kindrachuk
Lawson/Silverwood
TL :)
Name
School
Grade
Deanna Constantinoff
Silverwood Heights
One
Name
School
Grade
Jodi Brissaw
Lawson Heights
5/6
Name
School
Grade
Tamzen Kulyk
Hugh Cairns/Greystone
TL
Name
School
Grade
Aaron Hansen
Greystone Heights
6 AcTal
Name
School
Grade
Michelle Pantel
Greystone Heights
8 AcTal
Name
School
Grade
Mickey Jutras
Pleasant Hill
TL
Name
School
Grade
Ben Eng
Pleasant Hill
2 and 3
List emails in one row, separated by commas:
brissawj@spsd.sk.ca, jutrasm@spsd.sk.ca, kindrachuki@spsd.sk.ca, kulykt@spsd.sk.ca, constantinoffd@spsd.sk.ca, engbe@spsd.sk.ca, hansena@spsd.sk.ca, pantelm@spsd.sk.ca


Learning Circle Eight - Iditarod

Name
School
Grade
Erika Bakker
Misbah
KG
Name
School
Grade
Marge Roszell
Dundo/PACS
TL
Name
School
Grade
Anne Brander
H. Coad
TL
Name
School
Grade
Howard Coad
Neil Canton
Name
School
Grade
Cassandra Shangraw
Saskatoon Misbah School
6/7
Name
School
Grade
Deb Wilkinson
Dundonald
5
Name
School
Grade
C.L. Hayden
Princess Alexandra
5/6

List emails in one row, separated by commas:
bakkere@spsd.sk.ca, roszellm@spsd.sk.ca, brandera@spsd.sk.ca, shangrawc@spsd.sk.ca, wilkinsonde@spsd.sk.ca haydenc@spsd.sk.ca

Lead LC Roles

Group
Technology/Digital Citizenship
Inquiry/H.E.AT.
Collaboration/Communication
What to Keep Your Eye On: Responsibilities of Each Role
  • Adhering to digital citizenship
  • Generating curriculum connections with technology
  • Considering developing student expertise
  • Collecting pre/post questions
  • Coaching others through the inquiry process
  • Introducing others to the H.E.A.T questions and rubric
  • Ensuring student engagement and agency
  • Facilitating growing skills in credible, reliable searches (R.A.D.C.A.B.)
  • Nuturing the twice-a-month blogging
  • Providing a metasummary for each blogging twice-a-month period to Judy and Carlene
  • Coaching others through the collaborative process and how to involve others in coplanning and coteaching
  • Checking the progress of collaborative process
Group 1
Laurie Hnatiuk
Sandra Cochlan
Kim Johnston
Group 2
Ruth Elliott
Audrey MacDonald
Karen Routley
Group 3
Susan Funk
Yvonne Denomy
Najla Akl
Group 4
Lesley Walters
Diane Barsi
Alison Robbins Jakes
Group 5
Paul Bazin Webster
Kristin Smith
Denise Rossmo-Wiegers,
Jaelynne Cherwoniak
Group 6
Greg Wihak
Jan Harrison
Brenda Nissen
Group 7
Tamzen Kulyk
Irene Kindrachuk
Mickey Jutras
Group 8
Erika Bakker
Marge Roszell
Anne Brander